Line up: Andy Revell, Brian Devoil, Clive MItten,
Rick Battersby, Geoff Mann

Recorded: 1983

Disc 1

  1. Intro Tape (1:00)
  2. The Ceiling Speaks (6:50)
  3. Saatchi & Saatchi Intro (4:43)
  4. We Are Sane (11:02)
  5. Deep In The Heartland (5:20)
  6. The Collector (16:58)
  7. Love Song (5:32)
  8. The Poet Sniffs A Flower (4:30)
  9. Sequences (17:14)

Disc 2

  1. Art & Illusion (4:51)
  2. East Of Eden (5:16)
  3. Aspidentropy (9:29)
  4. The Collector* (20:17)
  5. Fact & Fiction* (4:24)
  6. The Poet Sniffs A Flower* (3:49)

Recorded 16 July 1983, The Marquee, London except * recorded at Crosskeys Institute, Gwent, 23 July 1983.

Double CD live recording from July 1983 featuring Geoff. Mostly recorded at the Marquee, London – and featuring the first live recordings of The Collector.

Mark Hughes: “By 1983, Twelfth Night had made The Marquee Club their home from home. Their regular monthly appearances sold out, usually well in advance, and had taken on the mantle of an event not to be missed… The bulk of this CD set is taken from one such show, a hot and steamy night in July 1983.  The occasion was rather special as it was billed as the premier of the latest Twelfth Night epic, The Collector. The song itself is classic Twelfth Night: intelligent yet off the wall lyrics combined with superb musicianship: Phil Bell of Sounds called the song “a mammoth composition rich in substance”.

But it wasn’t just The Collector the band had been working on, as recent concerts had seen the introduction of three other songs, The Ceiling Speaks, Deep In The Heartland and Art & Illusion, all of which are included here. Art & Illusion is of note as it has different lyrics to the recorded version, and at one time went under the title Power Is Illusion. Unfortunately, the Marquee version of The Collector is incomplete, although we have included what was captured (nearly 17 minutes!) as it is a fine quality performance and recording. To make up for this we have also included a full version recorded at the next concert exactly one week later at The Cross Keys Institute in Gwent, Wales. In addition we’ve included Fact And Fiction – The Poet from the Welsh show, as the first of these tracks was also missing from The Marquee recording, where The Poet is included in a rare pairing with Love Song.